How Are Permissions Migrated from Box to SharePoint Online?
Permission migration is one of the key aspects business cloud data migration. Before choosing a migration partner or a tool, it is very important to understand how file sharing permissions are migrated over to SharePoint Online from Box. Before we see and understand how CloudFuze handles permissions, let’s first check how Box and SharePoint Online environments differ from each other.
As you are planning to migrate from Box to Office 365 (OneDrive for Business and/or SharePoint Online), you may already know how sharing works in Box. The following are the collaborator-level permissions in Box.
- Viewer Uploader
- Previewer Uploader
A Box file or folder owner can share the content to anyone with above permission levels. Only Co-owner, Editor, and Viewer Uploader can edit files. You can know more about Box permissions here.
SharePoint Online Environment
When it comes to permissions, SharePoint Online is comparatively simpler. View and Edit are two major collaboration-level permissions besides a host of security-level permissions.
Sharing Settings in SharePoint Online
- Anyone with the link (Public)
- People within an organization
- People with existing access
- Any specific person
- Can Add
- Can Edit
- Allow/Disallow Editing
- Sharing expiration date
- Password protection
How Are Different Permissions in Box Migrated to SharePoint Online
When moving from Box Business to SharePoint Online, each permission in Box such as co-owner, editor, viewer, etc. are converted to a relevant SharePoint Online permission or role.
Note that these permissions remain the same throughout the Office 365 environment, including OneDrive for Business.